As if……


I have been silent online for awhile as I am experiencing many life altering changes all seemingly needing immediate answers. I have found time though to read the comments I received regarding the golf club thief and the “reckless ranger” who retrieved them.

Of course in retrospect the brandishing of a firearm was perhaps too extreme a method of recovery, but what if there had been no weapon involved. What if during the unarmed confrontation the person in possession of the merchandise had merely removed a club fron the bag and beaten the owner with it? What if the owner had merely contacted the law enforcement agency and waited to see (if?) one of their representatives could have retrieved the equipment for him. What if these (distinctly recognizable, and very personal) items never made it back to their rightful owner ? According to a few of my responders the answer would be ‘sie de la vie’, or a fool and his property are soon parted so long as no one gets hurt.  ( bleed)

Most responders cast dispersion upon the character in possession of stolen, personalized items that could not reasonably be thought of as “free” or “cheap because I just bought a truck load of them ” or ” they were a gift.” ( I remember when there were items listed in the “found” section of the “lost and found” ) Since I believe that most of my readers are among the most astute on the ‘net I am heartened.

I know that people in general are very proud of the possessions they have aquired, and I realize that for many, insurance will replace things that are lost , destroyed or stolen, but I personally cannot, off the cuff, find pity or trust in my heart for a thief.

 

2 thoughts on “As if……

  1. I agree that stealing is a natural impulse in nature. Often if a less-gifted hunter or gatherer does not steal he might starve. In nature the strongest are the most efficient breeders unless the “thieves” can cop what they can while the strong are distracted. As a human animal I would like to think that we can avoid living our life based purely on instinct. ; )

    Like

  2. My tendency lately is to compare us to the rest of the primates. I see it as, well, fact-based that primates will steal. Issues of morality will stop some of us from what I genuinely believe are our natural impulses. I consider us a part of “nature” and not separate from nature. No way are we separate from nature.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

