I wonder why, Again


In my mind this early morning lies a stubborn thought, a thought causing me to wonder. I wonder  how this collection of blogs; blogs written from across and around this planet, can effect a perspective, unlikely to be found in any lesson, from any university, from any specific peoples, from any particular system or sector of any society found on this earth, onto a receptive mind. I wonder why more folks do not take advantage of this grand opportunity to learn of life , love, hate and tolerance that is so readily and affordably available by merely taking the simple action required to open a search engine on a computer. Can it be that people mistrust their innate ability to sort through the many paradigms available and thusly discern the common thread of truth? Or is the pervasive view that ideas different from ones own are purposefully designed to lead one astray from learned ideals and are set in the concrete forms of convention merely as a form of propaganda ? Must the comforts of “knowing ”  include assurance that ones  way of life is the only true way? Is it that being comfortable in ones present condition relegates he or she into the maintenance of a defensive posture so that the norms of  their particular society remain unadulterated and therefore somehow purer than the lives of the multitudes who do not reside in the physical or ethereal neighborhoods in which these others choose to dwell ? Could there exist in humankind an inborn laziness , a blase attitude that eases the soul , that therefore imparts certain comforts to them during the passage of a “normal” day to day life? And if that scenario encourages such thoughts, how will the unreading portion of the population learn to adapt when changes do occur?

15 thoughts on “I wonder why, Again

  1. Thoughts have lives of their own, and blogging is a rather new form of communication. Those who don’t blog may learn of blog thoughts from friends, relatives, or others.

    Our educational system discourages creative thought. Thought control is the name of the game in mass media. Historically, the Catholic Church only allowed priests the right to read and write. In the early US, it was illegal to teach slaves to read and write, thinking that an ignorant population was easier to control.

    I’ve always been an avid reader, and unlike so many others, I like knowing how the enemy thinks. I have no “comfort zone” when it comes to curiosity about other viewpoints. Rather, I feel comfortable in all zones.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Absolutely there is sanity in the world, just as there is compassion and honesty. Because we are not confronted with it on a regular basis does not suggest its non-existence, but would hopefully simply strengthen our belief in such traits, and give us an incentive to demonstrate same to others.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It is definitely an element of “laziness” involved, but the core of the issue is fear: to open the door of doubt on one singular facet of one’s life (maybe there’s a better way of doing this? maybe I am operating under false delusions, etc) is to inherently cloak every facet of one’s paradigm into doubt. If I can be “wrong” about this, then I could be wrong by that (including the big ticket items like God).

    People would rather live with their cognitive dissonance than deal with what Keats referred to as Negative Capacity: that is, when a man is capable of being in uncertainties, mysteries, doubts, without any irritable reaching after fact and reason – Coleridge, for instance, would let go by a fine isolated verisimilitude caught from the Penetralium of mystery, from being incapable of remaining content with half-knowledge. This pursued through volumes would perhaps take us no further than this, that with a great poet the sense of Beauty overcomes every other consideration, or rather obliterates all consideration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I stated on my home page that one of the things I wished to accomplish with my blog would be “to make people think, if I can . ” Thank you very much for the give and take for I like it when I am also forced to think! It seems to me that your answers to the questions I posed are very similar to mine. Dare I say, ” Great minds think alike. ” ? Ouch ! Sorry about that. ; )

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Many interesting perspectives there. I believe that our “view of the world” is initiated with a combination of genetics and parental perspectives. i.e. we naturally accept their perspectives, at least as children. We then may make changes based on our experiences as we try and make sense of the world (I certainly did). Then of course we must acknowledge that many cultures lack the education possibilities that we take for granted. It is difficult for a woman (e.g.) in an isolated village, to understand how other countries treat their women. It comes down to “You don’t know what you don’t know!”
    As for blogging, and not wishing to be too simplistic, there are two obvious issues. One is a necessity to be comfortable with computer technology, and I am continually surprised at how many people of all age ranges, are not comfortable with it. The other thing with blogging is we tend to look for blogs that (no surprise) are in our range of interests.
    My Blog is driven by an interest in Ray. It is no surprise that a large number of my Followers are dog people. The context of my “Ray Posts” is a love of dogs; an education in training, and an overall appreciation of those “four-legged guys”! Not surprisingly, I do not get Followers who abuse dogs; who support puppy mills; breed fighting dogs etc. etc. In effect, I am pretty much preaching to the converted… as are you!
    In summary, blogging is a wonderful opportunity to “spread the word”, whatever “the word” is, and let us keeping spreading positive messages because, there are also so many negative blogs out there. If my blog keeps attracting new Followers, then I know that I am slowly reaching more people. I could not ask for more than that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really appreciate your reading and commenting on my little rant ! Yes, we to tend to keep up with the subjects in which we are most interested, but I would hope that any person who reads anything at all would at least be inadvertently exposed to new ideas and I would hope that this new input might force one to think a little about how there are differences between individuals, even those who hold similar views, and that those differences are not automatic condemnations of any “different” way of life ! I am enjoying our repartee and look forward to getting to know you a bit. BTW I am, and always have been, a “dog person”. All the canines that cared enough to share their lives with me have had unique and special personalities and abilities; I have loved them all ! ; )

      Like

      1. A suggestion: Next time you feel like a rant, draft it up somewhere, and then split it up into the various points covered. This particular one could have covered 6 or more separate Posts. My initial reaction was I could not possibly address all the issues you brought up and so why bother. Obviously, I chose to comment on some but, from my perspective, offering them up for comment one at a time would be both more productive, and overall more satisfying! Just some thoughts. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

