IT IS MY BALL AND I MAKE UP THE RULES


Memories from my childhood include playing games with others in different places. At one kids house third base had to be straightaway from the homeplate because the neighbors wall dictated a physical barrier. Play on we did because that was the way it was.  Shift the grounds to another location with a a larger lot and the bases could be more symmetrical, but a ball in the tree at the far left corner was a ground rule double, and we accepted that. On a legitimate ballfield standard rules would apply, unless the owner of the ball ended up on the losers side. “It is just not fair” he might declare,”If I can’t play my way, I am taking my ball back home.” Anything sound familiar?

3 thoughts on “IT IS MY BALL AND I MAKE UP THE RULES

Leave a Reply

