This will probably piss somene off.


When I had my eyes tested for the first time that I remember, I had just turned eight years. The optometrist prescribed for me a pair of wonderful, at first, two lenses supported by a plastic frame named bifocals. These glasses made the classroom open up inasmuch as I could actually see the writing on the wall.IE chalkboard. Being named “four eyes” and “coke bottle” did not really bother me at the time, though I noticed with each passing year more and more of my classmates and especially their and my own younger siblings wore corrective lenses. Many years later, after a few biology classes and some solid learning of reproduction and DNA, I seem to see a very disturbing trend in various conditions many newborns and their parents must deal with on a daily basis. Downs syndrome, autism, slow mental development, diabetes, and yes, nearsightedness are quite common ailments, along with some ailments only recently being recognized as the science of DNA steamrolls through the medical annals. Along with this trend I notice, as my nieces and nephews have children, that many of these young ladies run a high risk of miscarriage. Todays’ medical science can, through recognition, prescribing antispasm type drugs and bedrest( for as much as four months) allow these births to culminate in the delivery of a child. Unfortunately, as cold as it may seem to some, miscarriage is usually  natures way of saying “Hey, this dna matchup is not good and should be stopped! Many of these children develop syndromes of one sort or another and naturally lose life, but many survive long enough to propagate and pass these defective  genes to yet another generation. Add in the many, many people who have children with no idea of “who be the Daddy”, with the possibility of familial offspring, and I cannot personally hold much hope for the propagation of our species, even if we do not exterminate ourselves by way of some idiotic “war of the idioms”  Loving life, and the exchange of ideas,  williamleeone

Leave a Reply

